Darth Vadar

After making On the Wings of a Dove quilt for my youngest son, and the Spider-man quilt for my oldest son, I started looking for just the right design for my second son. I knew he was a Star Wars fan, and I began buying Star Wars fabric with no real plan or design in mind.
In my search, I ran across  and purchased The Dark Side Quilt pattern, by W.S.Kane.DVpattern

I knew I had to do this, but the thought of piecing 675 pieces that were 2.5 inches small, was a bit daunting.
I had already started a Scrabble quilt made of 2.5 inch squares, and I had shelved this project because the quarter inch seam and matching of squares for accuracy was killing me.
So, I went back to Las Colchas, where I received a pep talk. I left feeling like the Little Engine that Could. I received some hints for  improving the quarter inch seam. I used painter’s tape on my machine to help line up the quarter inch marking.
The process just about drove me nuts, but by the time I finished the third row of squares, I no longer had to rip seams and start over.
DV1 The first two rows, after repeated seam ripping and restarts.

DVprogress
Just seeing the top of Darth Vadar’s head made me feel a little more confident.
NY (600)

NY (603)
I had ordered some pillow fabric with the images of Darth Vader and Yoda. I used these for the backing, along with the other Star War fabric that I had originally purchased.

Acquired/Improved Skills: PATIENCE, rotary cutting, quarter inch seam, adapting a pattern, choosing fabric, piecing the back with remaining fabric, learning that mistakes can be corrected

Start Date: September 15, 2015
Piecing Completed: October 2, 2015

Long Arm Quilting by Jeana Kubik.

 

2 thoughts on “Darth Vadar

Leave a Reply

