Happy 70th Birthday!

My sister Adri, turned 70 on December 12th.
We planned a surprise party for her at my mom’s house.
Her daughter flew in from Albany, NY.

I had originally planned on quilting a purse for Adri, but she is a fan of Vera Bradley, and I know I cannot compare.
The plan was to use a bundle of coordinating fat quarters that I had purchased at Jo-Ann Fabrics.
The bundle included fabric with cardinals, a favorite symbol in our family.
As I ironed each fabric, I decided to make a quilt…somehow.

I made one square in order to see if this would help me with a design.
cardinalsquare
FullSizeRender (1)  Then I drew up a plan.
cardinalsqs

Back

Quilt Top
Quilt Top

IMG_5435

Acquired and Improved Skills: Design, not wasting fabric, try new things, cutting, measuring
Start Date: November 25, 2016
Piecing Completed: November 29, 2015
Gifted: December 12, 2015

Long Arm Quilting by Jeana Kubik

 

Leave a Reply

