Jigsaw Puzzle Quilt

Inspiration arrives as a packet of material to be delivered.

~John Updike

Inspiration is delivered in many forms and from various sources.
Sometimes it can be delivered while taking my morning walk.
Other times, just brainstorming what I know and love about someone delivers the best inspiration of all.
Of course, the internet is a great source of inspiration.

I was trying to find the perfect quilt design for one of my daughter-in-laws.
As I was brainstorming things that she likes to do, I remembered how much
she likes to work on jigsaw puzzles. I love seeing her and my granddaughter work puzzles together.
So, I searched the internet and located a great tutorial by Rose Smith.

After viewing the tutorial video a few times, I created my pattern.
IMG_6147
The pattern required 4 different fabric. One of these fabrics was also used for the borders.
I cut the following:
3.5 inch squares – 32 squares of fabric 1, 28 squares of fabric 2, 29 squares of fabric 3,
8 squares of fabric 4

3.5 x 9.5 inch squares 6 squares of fabric 1, 5 squares of fabric 2, 5 squares of fabric 3

puzzlepiecing

IMG_5495IMG_5498

Acquired/Improved Skills: design, piecing, seams, H quilt block, how to calculate amount of fabric needed (Still working on this one!)

Start Date: October 26, 2015
Piecing Completed: November 2, 2015
Gifted: Christmas, 2015

Long Arm Quilting by Jeana Kubik.

Leave a Reply

