Morganina Ballerina

angelina Angelina Ballerina is a cartoon mouse, created by author Katharine Holabird and illustrator Helen Craig. I purchased some books for my granddaughter, along with an Angelina doll.
By this time, my former long arm quilter had moved to another state.
I was introduced to Jeana, at Busy Bees Quilting. Jeana became a new friend and source of valuable information to help me grow as a quilter.
I had purchased a fat-quarter bundle of coordinating fabrics of pink, brown,grey, lavender, and green.
The fabrics were designed with ballerinas, polka-dots, flowers and swirls.
Jeana has a supply of different quilting notions and fabrics as part of her business.
She helped me coordinate my fat-quarters with a pastel jelly roll.
I then purchased some fabric designed with ballerina slippers.
I used this for some of the strips, and for the backing.
After looking at various jelly roll quilt patterns, I decided to make a 12 square quilt.
Each quilt block had 5 strips that measured 2.5 x 12.5 inches;  and one strip made with 6 squares measuring 2.5 inches x 2.5 inches.
I had been having difficulty with accuracy in cutting, even though I was using the rotary, quilt rulers, and mats. At Las Colchas, I learned how to measure only with the quilt ruler and not the grids on the quilt mat. At first, I thought this was crazy, but I soon realized that it was crazier to use two standards to measure instead of one. The grids on the quilt mats and the grids on the quilt rulers may be a bit off when both are used together. After much practice, I began to see the benefit.
Thank you, Las Colchas!
FullSizeRender  Pattern Design
ballerinastrips Playing with design
IMG_5461 IMG_5462
Acquired/Improved Skills: Measuring using only the ruler and not the grids on the quilt mat, designing, coordinating fabrics, using jelly rolls without wasting fabric
Start Date: November 22, 2015
Piecing Completed: November 25, 2015
Gifted: Christmas, 2016

Leave a Reply

