Pig in a Wig

EmmaVpiginwig

It is my honor to be the sister of a great author and illustrator, Emma Virjan.
Young readers are delighted with the adventures of Pig in a Wig.
The rhythm, rhyme, and word patterns make it easy and fun to read.
I’m also proud to say that my son, Sean Cunningham, is the creator of the trailers for Pig in a Wig.

BookPeople, in Austin, hosted the book launch for  Emma’s first book in this series, What This Story Needs is a Pig in a Wig. I wanted to make something special to celebrate, so I decided to make my first tote bag. I purchased a pattern, but found the instructions were confusing. Even people with experience confirmed that the pattern was not user friendly. This became a real learning experience for me.
I used one of Emma’s images of Pig in a Wig (with permission) and made an applique to add onto the center of the tote.
Cindy, at Las Colchas, demonstrated the bullion stitch, and I thought it would be great to add dimension to Pig’s bouffant. By the time I got home, I had already forgotten how to do the stitch, so I researched and found a tutorial for the bullion embroidery stitch.
I wanted my two youngest grandchildren to participate in the celebration, Pig- in- a- Wig- style, so I added and applique of Pig onto a dress and a t-shirt.
It was a great day, celebrating my sister!

Pig jan4_aug312pigdress jan4_aug312pig shirt

Acquired /Improved Skills: Reading and adjusting a pattern, making a large tote, boxing the corners of a tote, bullion embroidery stitch, applique techniques

Leave a Reply

