Scrabble Quilt

After meeting the challenge of piecing 675,  2.5 inch squares, I decided to revisit the Scrabble quilt I had shelved.
My daughter in law is an champion Scrabble player, so I wanted to make her a Scrabble quilt.
Pinterest provided a treasure trove of ideas. I ordered a Scrabble fabric panel and proceeded to design my own version. The pattern I designed called for 225, 2.75 each squares. The letter tiles measured 2.75. It was a bit tricky, since the letter tiles were at a bit of an angel to show dimension.
The inside border was cut at 1.5 inches, and the second border was cut at 2.5 inches.
I purchased 1/8 of a yard of each of the following colors: fuchsia, light pink, dark blue, light blue.
I purchased 7/8 of a yard of beige fabric.
IMG_6146 I used graph paper to create my pattern, and then listed the color and letter tiles that would be in each row.

IMG_5492 scrabbleback

Acquired and Improved Skills: Design and planning, rotary cutting, accuracy in piecing, quarter-inch seam, accepting mistakes and starting over

Second Start Date: October 20, 2015
Piecing Completed : October 24, 2015
Gifted: Christmas, 2015

Long Arm Quilting by Jeana Kubik.

Leave a Reply

