Bluey’s Hamper

My younger brother was born when I was 10 years old.
It was like I had received a real life, very active, baby doll.
His very vivid imagination created an imaginary friend, Bluey.
Bluey was everywhere, and did everything.
Bluey lived in our hamper.
The hamper I remember had scrolls and flowers.
So, I shared this story with Cindy, at Las Colchas.
She directed me to Moda’s Laundry Basket Cold Spell layer cakes…PERFECT!
I also purchased the Moda blue on blue polka dot fabric for the backing.
809  modabluespread
I started researching ideas for this quilt by revisiting a book I had purchased online.
Skip the Borders by Julie Herman has very easy patterns.
After looking at other sources, I decided to make a brick wall quilt pattern.

830
I went back to Las Colchas in order to improve measuring using only the quilt ruler. I was very happy with the results.

Mom was very excited that I was making a quilt for my brother.
On one of my visits, she and my sister Adri helped me lay out the strips.
832I
blueytop
Start Date: January 3, 2016
Piecing Completed: January 5, 2016
Gifted: February, 2016

Long Arm Quilting by Jeana Kubik

Leave a Reply

