Charming Charm Pack Tote

The remaining pieces of fusible foam were just waiting to be used,
so I pulled out my stash to see what I could do.
I had polka dot strips left over from the jelly roll tote,
and I had floral print fabric that I had used for lining.
I picked up a 20 count charm pack and thought about making a small tote.
If I could make one with strips, it shouldn’t be that difficult to make one with squares.
My sister had asked me to make a small tote for her friend,
so I thought I would try to do something with the charm pack and my stash.

IMG_6818I arranged the squares and stitched 5 rows of 4.
I placed the top row on the fusible foam and stitched 1/4″ from the top.
Then I ironed on the first row.
I continued adding each row to the fusible foam in this same manner.

 

 

 

 

IMG_6823
I stitched diagonally in each square in order to give more body and texture to the tote bag.
FullSizeRender (31)
I folded the piece in half in order to find the center, and then I stitched along the center.
FullSizeRender (30)
I added pockets to the lining.

IMG_6831 (1)

I used two 2.5″ strips to make each handle.
I like the handle technique that I learned from the  Craftsy Gemini Improv tutorial, Part 2.
FullSizeRender (29)
This took a total of 2 hours to make, only because I stopped to eat apple pie and ice cream!

Leave a Reply

