Joyful Song

I love birds.
Anything with birds.
I am also very fond of paisley and polka-dots.

Joann’s Fabric has a variety of beautiful, bird print fabric that
I have been wanting to purchase. I was just waiting for the perfect
project.

I found this excellent blog, Sewn Up, and I chose the charm pack tote bag.
There are so many good tutorials on this blog.
The directions and photos are very clear and helpful.

I had ordered the Moda Polka-dot and Paisley charm pack.
Then, I purchased three coordinating fabrics from Joann’s to use for the lining,
the bottom portion of the bag, and the sash and handles.

FullSizeRender (3)
FullSizeRender (4) FullSizeRender (5)
FullSizeRender (7)
The tutorial suggests stipple quilting, which is something I have never done. That’s next on my list of things to learn. I just stitched 1/4 inch lines.
Instead of a bow, I attached the sash and added a bird button that I have had in my button box for some time.
This pattern suggested a “how- to -make a pocket” tutorial that is excellent.

FullSizeRender (6) Outer ShellIMG_6890 Lining
IMG_6889 Side One  IMG_6888 Side Two

Leave a Reply

