Space Quilt : Day 2

“Rivers know this: there is no hurry. We shall get there some day.”
― A.A. Milne, Winnie-the-Pooh

Patience does not come easy for me.
When I started quilting, I realized right away that I needed to set short-term goals in order to feel like something had been accomplished on a daily basis.
Other wise, it would be a race to the finished product.
I would make many mistakes and have to rip and redo.

After cutting all the fabric yesterday, I set the goal to make only one blue star quilt block.
It felt good to see I was on the right track.

Today, my goal was to finish all six of the blue star quilt blocks.
I placed them on the design board just to get that motivation to continue.
20161030_213817332_ios
I thought that I had cut all 288 of the three-inch squares I needed to piece into 144,  2.5 inch squares.
20161030_235849994_ios
I was able to piece and prepare the complete 2.5 inch squares for the orange star block.
However, I did not have enough of the yellow and white to complete the purple star block.
I miscounted somewhere.
Tomorrow’s goals:
Piece 6 orange star blocks
Cut more yellow and white to form the star for the purple star blocks.

I got side-tracked with another idea today.
I thought it might be fun to either applique or make a block with an astronaut or rocket.

After talking to my son, he said he would create a jpg based on the templates I sent him.
I can print them on fabric and decide at that point if I want to applique or make a block.
I would need to go to the Mesquite Bean if I choose to applique.
They welcome customers bringing their machines and working in a back room, where they offer free assistance. Isn’t that cool?

The rocket would include my son and grandson.
rocket
The rocket would look something like this.

The astronaut would just have the photo of my grandson.
astro
The astronaut would be based on this free image I got online.

This is all still in the “maybe” stage.
I don’t know if I can do it, but I might give it a try.

I will get there some day.
Thanks, Winnie the Pooh.

Leave a Reply

