Ready, Set, Go! Space Quilt #2

Since I have already made my granddaughter two quilts, I was not sure if she wanted another.
One was a ballerina quilt; the other had birds in a tree.
These were small lap quilts,and they were the second and third quilts I had ever made.

Since I had not used the second space panel for my grandson’s quilt, I thought I could use it in a quilt for my granddaughter, another space enthusiast. I asked my son if my granddaughter would like a space quilt. Her room has recently been decorated with solar system decals and stars.

My son’s response was that she loves anything her grandmother makes and she is probably expecting one for Christmas.
The rush is on!

This morning, I found this great free pattern from eQuilter . It was designed by Wendy Sheppard, courtesy of Benartex. This pattern included the exact Out of this World panel I already have, so it was perfect.
I have ordered from eQuilter before and I have always been satisfied with the fabric.
I called to see about how to order just the pieces I needed, and I was informed it could take about 6 business days for it to get here.
This would be too late, so I went to Las Colchas and JoAnn’s and found what I needed.
Joan and Shawn were great in helping me figure out the fabric I needed.

The pattern gives great directions with a list of materials needed. I made some adjustments to make it special for my granddaughter. I know she likes purple, so I had to include it. I also decided to use one cream fabric instead of the two that were in the pattern. This will just keep it simple for me.
20161110_215007134_ios

 

Leave a Reply

