Messenger Bag

20161128_173827608_ios
This morning, I was able to complete the Morning Sun quilt top and I took it to Jeana Kubik .
Every visit with Jeana is like getting a private lesson.
I shared my ideas about a future quilt project and she gave me some great pointers.
Then she gave me a tip about setting up an easy design board by buying a flannel backed table cloth from the Dollar Store…Wow! How easy is this?
I’ll be hitting the store tomorrow.

After I returned from the usual Monday grocery trip, I started making the Christmas purse for my granddaughter.
Last week, when she and I were at the quilt shop, I thought I would give her the choice of choosing the fabric.
She just smiled and said, “Surprise me!”
I searched different online patterns for making a messenger bag.
Most of these were too large for a 5 year old.
Luckily, I found this tutorial on Merriment Design.

I added some bulk to the bag by using fusible batting on both the lining and the outer bag.
I also decided to applique a tree and decorate it with buttons.
20161128_233449221_ios
The green fabric was a fat quarter left over from last year.

20161129_003338411_ios Inner Bag
I added a pencil pocket and a small pocket.
20161129_003347292_ios Outer Bag
20161129_010031107_ios
Flap
The underside of the flap is the same fabric as the lining and tree.
20161129_022100645_ios
I found a package of Christmas buttons that had green and red owls, so I added them to the tree.
My granddaughter has a ballet performance this Saturday, so I will Surprise Her with her bag.

Next on the list?
I’ll decide tomorrow.

 

Leave a Reply

