Three Birds with One AccuQuilt Go!

Block 20, the Robin, from Block a Day, calls for 6″ x 6″ templates.
I didn’t realize this yesterday, when I made the Robin, that the AccuQuilt Go! beginner set came with the 6″ x”6 die cut small and large square, and small triangles.
So, today, I cut fabric for the remaining three bird blocks I will use in the Tribute to Tonie quilt.
What a difference this made in saving time and fabric!
20170102_220003476_ios 20170102_220007816_ios
The pink sticky notes were very helpful in preparing the cuts and assembling the pieces.
I glued fabric swatches  and labeled  each piece; then I wrote the number and shape I needed.

The block comes with the bird facing right.
Two of the four bird blocks will face right.
20170102_023546813_ios20170103_010743522_ios
I’m going to have to make some adjustments to the brown bird.
I just noticed some of the points are off.
I drew a pattern for the cardinal and blue bird based on Block 20, but facing left.
20170102_155945521_ios
I added a medium- size template for the cardinal’s head.
I hope to get these done tomorrow.

Last week,I had seen a tutorial where a mini-iron was used to press seams.
The results made this a good purchase.
It was 40% off at Hobby Lobby today.
20170102_230003597_ios

Working with these bird quilt blocks made me want to take a break and go bird watching, so I did.
It’s been awhile since my friends and I have gone on a bird watching trip.
There is a whooping crane festival in Port Aransas in February.
We saw whooping cranes a year ago and they were so beautiful.
Hopefully, we can go again.

My heart is like a singing bird.
Christina Rossetti

Leave a Reply

