Surprise Saturday

One of my son’s surprised us with a visit this afternoon.
What a great way to spend a Saturday!

He walked into a quilting mess.
I had set up a large table in the living room, so that I didn’t have to keep pulling out the AccuquiltGo!.
It was supposed to be temporary, but I find it very handy to have this table.

I managed to get three blocks from Block A Day completed today.
These blocks will be included in the Tribute quilt.
20170114_212745756_ios
Block #146, Weather Vane
Mom would always call to tell us about the weather, whenever there was a rain storm or freeze.
She wanted to make sure we dressed appropriately for the weather.
She also wanted us not to drive in the rain. 🙂
Apparently, I have inherited this Weather Vane gene.
I call my sons to inform them of any bad weather predictions. 😉

20170114_181033134_ios
Block # 341, Homeward Bound
I am using this block for a Marching Band block.
I  had some musical note fabric remnants from pillows and journal covers that I made last year.
Mom played the French Horn in her high school marching band.
Whenever we went to the Fiesta parades, mom would go absolutely nuts with each passing band.
She would march in place, shout out to the bands, and whistle!
This was not her usual behavior, so it was hilarious to see.
20170115_005536480_ios
Block #250, Bird’s Nest
Mom had birds figurines everywhere.
She often used nests in her floral arrangements and decorations.
I remember a shopping trip in search of small bird nests.

Since I will be sashing this quilt, I have been looking at tutorials and ideas.
Missouri Star Quilting Company had a tutorial that I found particularly interesting.
I don’t know if it suits this quilt, or not, but it is something I am considering.
I am looking for a way to sash and still highlight the center block, the House.

Leave a Reply

