Better Attitude…Better Day

After yesterday’s frustrating quilting experience, I spent the night readjusting my attitude.
Today was so much better.
I am still not happy with the seams, but I am doing the best I can.
This project is giving me so many opportunities to learn and improve.
I may have committed a quilting no-no on the bird blocks.

The blocks were not measuring 12.5 inches.
The pattern of the block is too difficult to rip and start over.
So, I added a strip of musical note fabric all around to measure 12.5  inches.
It may take away from the presentation, but it may also enhance it.
Since it is my quilt, I will say it enhances it. 😉

All the tutorials on sashing say to add the vertical sashes first, then add the horizontal rows.
I needed to see how it looked, so I went ahead and completed three rows.
I am so glad I did.
Once I saw it hanging, I forgot the trouble I am having with the seams, and felt good about what I saw.

I decided to make the 9-patch square corners, and I am happy with the result.
Jenny Sloan, from Missouri Quilt Star Co. says it is quick and easy. 😦
Maybe, one day, it will be.
20170214_015607426_ios
Tomorrow, I plan to take the day off and celebrate Valentine’s Day.
On Wednesday, after my luncheon with my cousins, I will work on the 9-patch squares.
Maybe, I will be able to finish the vertically sashes for the last four rows.

My friend, Nancy Reynolds sent me these photos of some lamps that she and her husband, Richard, are making.
Richard is a master photographer who captures the beauty of Texas.
Nancy is just so creative and makes so many beautiful things.
20170213_160911512_ios 20170213_160948250_ios 20170213_161057903_ios
These lamps and some photo pillows may be featured at the West Austin Studio Tour in May.
I will keep you posted.

Leave a Reply

