Birds

bbUse what talents you possess; the woods would be very silent if no birds sang there except those that sang best.
Henry Van Dyke

In my past few visits to quilt stores, I have been looking at different quilt rulers.
The rulers I have purchased have certainly made a difference in my cutting.
I have not yet ordered more templates for the AcuQuilt, since I really do not know which set would be the best purchase for me at this time.
While at the Poppy Quilt and Sew in Georgetown, I once again considered a Stripology Grid Ruler.
My friend, Nancy, said she had one.
After reviewing tutorials on the Stripology Ruler, I decided to purchase one.
It arrived today.

So far, I still do not know if I like it.
The strips are more accurate, but I have difficulty using either one of my rotary cutters.
They both seem to jam on me at the start.
I will practice some more on this tomorrow.
If I get this to work, I will begin to cut the fabric for the Transformer quilt.

In the meantime, I have made two more blocks from Lucinda Ganderton.
I used one of the other bird fabrics that I purchased.

After making these two blocks, I am definitely going to make a quilt.
I have two other bird fabrics, plus all of my scraps.
It would probably be better to plan the whole quilt before starting to make one…but I have always worked by the seat of my pants. Well, maybe not better…but that is how I work.
So, I am designing as I make the blocks…the Design as You Go method!:)
I’ll keep on quilting, in my own way; and my sewing room will not be silent. bb

These are bird blocks I have so far.
Yesterdays blocks:
20170301_001342119_ios       20170301_021406851_ios

Today’s blocks:
20170302_000122580_ios         20170302_010119521_ios

Leave a Reply

