New Tool

My son uses a design program when he is planning a piece of furniture he will be building.
He asked if there were any quilting design programs, and that was the first I ever thought of something like this.
After a bit of researching, I found a free program, Pattern Jam . 
I also found an app for the iPad, Quiltology.

I tried the free program today, and I am still learning how to use it effectively.
One glitch that I ran across was in designing the border.
The border for my Hope quilt is not solid.
It is made of keyboard strips.
I was not able to find out how to insert the different keyboard strips.
The result was a border showing just one keyboard strip.
I will keep playing with this and see if it is worth using.
One benefit I can see already, is the ability to layout the design and color scheme.
This is the result of the Hope quilt on Pattern Jam.

Tonight, I will be attending my first guild meeting.
The Alamo Heritage guild meets at a church that is near my house.
This will give me the opportunity to ask people about quilt design programs.

Oh! Exciting news.
Lucinda Ganderton, the author of Block a Day, commented on my blog!
I was so happy to read what she had to say.
Her book has been a great resource for me.
I highly recommend the book.

Leave a Reply

