Tuesday

Rainy Day + Classical Music = Great Day for Creating
It has been the perfect day for playing with fabric.
I completed the New York Block.
I love these blocks, but I am learning this on my own and it is real challenging.
Hopefully, I can talk to someone at the guild and see about taking lessons.

After I completed this NY block, I went back to making more scrappy quilt blocks.
I find it very relaxing to just piece without a plan.
My technique is to pull out strips and pieces and just sew them without any measuring or planning.
Sometimes, I cut a 6.5″ x 6.5″ wonky square.
Then, I add more strips to this square and cut a 8.5″ x 8.5″ square.
Or, I just piece and cut a wonky 8.5″ x 8.5″ square.
This is what I have so far:
      
After I completed these blocks, I realized that I had emptied the two stash drawers where I had mostly misfit remnants.
I sorted a few other drawers and cut some strips, and now the stash drawers are a bit more manageable.

I spent some time looking at paper piecing tutorials.
It was also a Pinterest kinda day.
Bird house quilt blocks caught my attention.
Since I am not ready to paper piece, I decided to create a bird house block without a pattern.
I started with a 4.5″ X 4.5″ square in the middle, and then I made the roof.
I just pieced what was needed as I went along.

I don’t know if I want to applique a bird on this or not.
Here are some possibilities:
  
Tomorrow, my friend and I will be going to visit Jeana.
She sells great fabric to use for quilt backing, and we want to know what is available before we go fabric shopping for the Brackenridge Park quilt.

 

2 thoughts on “Tuesday

Leave a Reply

