Pepe

A family is a place where minds come in contact with one another.
Buddha

It is my good fortune to have the best siblings ever.
This morning, I met my sister, Emma, for breakfast.
We met at mom’s favorite restaurant, Jim’s.

Emma is a talented, creative author and illustrator.
Her fourth book in the Pig in a Wig series will be out soon.
She was invited to attend the TLA Conference in San Antonio,
and it was so nice spending time with her.

Emma is the youngest of the siblings, and I do believe the wisest.
It was a morning of great conversation and much inspiration.
After such a great morning, I returned home and started making the quilt in memory of my dad.
His full name was Jose Leon Virjan, but everyone called him Pepe.

Last night, I designed a lap quilt.
When I opened the bag where I had stored my dad’s shirts, I couldn’t help but smile.
The bag had a faint smell of my parent’s home, and it was so comforting.
The shirts are a bit more frail than I thought, and I was thinking of not making the quilt.
Then I thought that the quality of the fabric isn’t what matters.
The quilt is for me.
The memories, the process of making this quilt, is what matters.
I spent the afternoon cutting the shirts and thinking of my dad.
Today was definitely a family day, where minds contacted with one another.


Dad and his plaids! I can just see him…
wearing these shirts and his bermuda shorts !

This is the center block for the quilt.

5 thoughts on “Pepe

  1. Needed a break from all the packing and your post was the first one I came to. It made me smile big with just the happiness and warmth that surrounded the story and memories. Your block is beautiful and I can’t wait to see a picture of the finished quilt!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

