Vacation, Design, Decisions

After a great time with my son and daughter-in-law, I have spent a day trying to catch up on some sleep.
I was too busy having fun to rest and sleep while I was in Mckinney.
Thursday was my first day back.
I totally crashed.
Although, last night, I did manage to finish the sundress that my daughter-in-law and I started.
Now, it is time to finalize my plan for the Quilt of Valor.

When I visited the Quilting is Happiness shop in Mckinney, I saw this big star block quilt hanging on the wall. I thought it would be a perfect center for a QOV.
The shop had a large diamond ruler to use in making this block, but I did not want to pay $55.
It would be a good tool to have, but how many times would I actually use this?

I realized that the same block can be made using large squares and half-square triangles.
So, I drew a plan that I think I might use.
The star blocks would be 12 inches, resulting in a 48″ x 48″ center.
The star block quilt at the shop was a bit larger, but I think 12″ blocks would be large enough.
I would add a 1″ sash around the center.
But, that’s as far as I got with this design.
I still have to figure out how to add enough co-coordinating border to meet the
55″ x 65″ minimum standard.

In my stash, there are pieces of red and blue fabrics that can be used.
I also have been purchasing fat quarters with a patriotic theme.

It would be so much easier, and more economical,  if I chose a pattern first, then purchased fabric.
But, this is another one of my plan-as-I go quilt designs.
I am still undecided as to what design I will use.

These were my original design.
For my plane trip, I had bought some quilting magazines that showcased patriotic quilts.
I got some ideas for borders from these magazines.

I think my favorite part of quilting is creating the design.
The difficult part is in deciding which design to use.

I like design, I like details, to me it is just another form of self-expression.
John Malkovich

My plan is to make my decision by Sunday.
Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

