Another Chance

I see retirement as just another of these reinventions, another chance to do new things and be a new version of myself.
Walt Mossberg

Retirement was a very difficult decision for me.
In May of 2014, I informed the principal of my school that I was thinking of retirement.
Thankfully, she allowed me to keep this private until the last teacher work day of school.
It just so happened that the last school day with children was on my birthday.
My three sons surprised me with a visit that day, to celebrate my birthday and retirement.
This visit definitely helped me make it through on the day I said farewell to my last class.
Their visit also gave me the strength to say good-bye to my friends the next day, when we met for the last teacher work day.

My youngest son made this for me. I had quoted Dr. Seuss to my son when I told him I was retiring.

This photo was taken exactly three years ago today.
I had gone to Austin to sign the final paper work for retirement.
Then, I visited my Alma Mater, the University of Texas.
I walked the campus hoping to come up with a plan for what to do next.
It has taken three years, but I am finally  comfortable with my decision.
I still miss the children…but I love the freedom and the chance to do new things.
I think I will celebrate this anniversary with some apple pie and ice cream!

4 thoughts on “Another Chance

Leave a Reply

