Good Intentions

Good intentions are not enough. They’ve never put an onion in the soup yet.
Sonya Levien

After finishing the super cape, I had every intention of cleaning out bins and reorganizing my sewing room. Needless to say, no onion was put in the soup today.

I opened one bin that had ribbons, lace, burlap, and other things I had used to make prayer flags and pennants.
About a year ago, my friends and I made prayer flags and Halloween banners.  I also made some prayer flags with my granddaughter, and they are still hanging in her house.
Then, I remembered a post by Linda on Take Time to Create. She made a beautiful embroidered garland.
So, I went off on another tangent.
I was going to make a garland of prayer flags.

As I was pulling out the box of flag stuff, I remembered the project I had made with mom. I often took craft stuff to her house to keep us busy.
One time, I took material and things for us to make prayer flags for her house.
It was the last project we did together.
I decided to open the box that contained a few things that I had kept from her house.
Not only did I find the prayer flags we made, I also found her jar of buttons and her thimble collection.

We were only able to make two prayer flags, but I am so happy we made them.
 
I pulled out another box that I had brought from mom’s house and found the yarn
yo-yo’s mom had crocheted.
We had talked about using these to crochet a shawl, but we never got a chance
to do it.
I am going to look for a way to make this shawl.
I love to crochet, but my thumb does not…it jams on me when I crochet.

A floral crocheted pot holder ,made by my Aunt Pi, was in the bag.
When I do clean up my sewing room, I will hang up the  thimbles and the prayer flags.

Instead of getting back to my good intentions, I started making some flags for my room.
This is what I have so far:
   
So much for good intentions…
It was a great afternoon anyway!

Leave a Reply

