Liebster Award

 


Years ago, a technology instructor in my school district, introduced me to blogging.
I immediately saw the instructional benefit and the fun that this form of communication could be for my students…and me!
I had a classroom blog and a teacher blog. Once I retired, I decided to start a blog to share my new creative journey, and also make new friends along the way.

Through blogging, I have connected with many inspiring and creative people.
One of my new-found blogging friends, Abbie, has nominated me for the Liebster Award.
This is an award given to bloggers by fellow bloggers.

Abbie’s blog, Sparkle On, truly does sparkle! Her blog is filled with fun, creative ideas.
Thank you for the nomination, Abbie!
Oh, and thank you for your sweet comment about my having  “Joie de Vivre”…you made my day!
Here are my answers to your 10 questions:

10 Questions

1.) Who inspired you to quilt/sew?
My family.
My mother had seven sisters, each one talented in many crafts such as sewing, quilting, crocheting, embroidery, knitting, and painting. They were all inspirational women.
Mom did beautiful embroidery and crocheting. My Tia Isidra was the one who got me through Home Economics sewing class…no one could help me through the cooking part of the class!
Tia would let me choose the fabric and design my birthday party dress. She also made clothes for my Madame Alexander dolls.
Quilting was something I always wanted to do. I never gave myself the time or opportunity to study quilting when I was teaching. My first attempt was a quilt I made for my mother-in-law. All eleven grandsons drew on cloth squares and I somehow patched it together.
I also made small wall hangings with drawings that my students made.
It wasn’t until I retired in 2014 that I attended a quilt convention and my sister Adri encouraged me to go for it.
My husband and sons encourage my endeavors. And I just love designing quilts especially for them.

2.) If you could meet one “Quilting Celebrity’, who would it be?
Jenny Doan’s enthusiasm is contagious. I love how she explains and demonstrates techniques in her tutorials. She makes me laugh.
I also would like to meet Vanessa Vargas Wilson from Gemini Crafts. She has such a down-to-earth manner in her tutorials.

3.) What was the last movie you saw in the theater?
My friends and I went to the theater to see Love and Friendship. This was in 2016.
I really don’t go to the theater anymore, but I am a movie buff.
I love old movies, especially silent films. Charlie Chaplin is one of my favorites.
Movies with Bette Davis, Lana Turner, Rita Hayworth, and Greer Garson are still what I prefer to watch…over and over again.

4.) What kind of music do you like?
Mom always had music playing in the house and I love listening to most genres.
I particularly like folk, blues, jazz, swing, country, rock and roll and classical.
I grew up in the time of great music, and I still listen to my favorites which include: Bob Dylan,Willie Nelson, anything Beatle, Jimi Hendrix, Janis Joplin….anything from my era!

5.) What is your favorite candy bar?
Oh, I have a terrible sweet tooth. If I had to choose, I would say Baby Ruth.

6.) Which is your favorite quilt block?
I just love trying new and different blocks. I seem to favor Flying Geese and the different types of Star blocks. I am also interested in the New York Beauty block.

7.) To pre-wash fabric or not to pre-wash? That is the question!
So far, my answer is to not pre-wash. I have never found the need to do so.

8.) What is your favorite color?
I love playing with colors. I tend to favor anything purple.

9.) What is your favorite quilting/sewing notion?
The best sewing notion I ever purchased was the quarter inch sewing foot guide.
It has helped improve my seam accuracy.

10.) Do you have a favorite quilting book (or any book for that matter!) to recommend to others?
I recommend Block a Day by Lucinda Ganderton. I have learned so much from this book.

 

There are a few blogs that I follow, and I am always looking for more.
It is my turn to nominate, my nominees for the Liebster Award are: Linda, at Take Time to Create and Mary J. Puckett from Zippy Quilts.
Linda’s blog is filled with creative ideas and projects.
She described her blog as being “all about trying new things”…something I like to do.
Linda creates beautiful products in various media. Check out her Faux Sea Glass post.

I just recently started following Mary’s blog, Zippy Quilts.
The subtitle of her blog, “Modern Quilts with a Twist”, caught my attention.
The first few blogs I read were filled with exciting, new, fresh ideas.
I look forward to learning more from Mary’s posts.
Today, she posted information about Big Stitch quilting…wow!

Linda and Mary, here are the rules and my 10 questions.
Feel free to answer any or none of these questions.
I look forward to your responses and your future posts.

Liebster Award Rules

1. How do you define creativity?
2. What do you do to get in a creative zone?
3. What theme song would you select to be the soundtrack of your life?
4. Is there a particular project that gave you the most joy to make?
5. How do you handle any moments of “creative block”?
6. Is there a particular time or place where you feel more creative?
7. Are you a stickler for plans or a go-with-the flow type of crafter?
8. What is your favorite media for creative expression?
9. Who inspires you and encourages your creativity?
10. What advice or words of encouragement can you give to someone who wants to try new things but is not sure of their abilities?

 

2 thoughts on “Liebster Award

Leave a Reply

