UFO or WIP

When my friends and I last met to work on the Brackenridge River Quilt, we had finished preparing the photo appliques. We were supposed to meet today, but plans were changed.
It seems we are all going in different directions for the next two months.
I was going to be the one to applique the photos, so I picked up the quilt today in order to finish the top.
My friend lives near the Mesquite Bean, and I stopped by just to see what is new.
Big mistake.
I have two designs in my quilt design sketch book.
One is a dinosaur quilt.
The other is an All You Need is Love Quilt.
I found great fabric at the Mesquite Bean that would be perfect for these two designs.
I did some major talking to myself, and decided it would be best to shelve these designs for now.
It was difficult, but I walked out of the store without fabric.

When I got home, I knew I had made the right decision.
This is what I saw when I took the river quilt to my sewing table.

Question: Do I scoop up these 2.5 inch squares and throw them in the UFO bin?
Or do I finish piecing the top for the 9-square patch quilt and then throw that into the WIP bin?

I knew if I placed those 2.5 inch squares in the UFO bin this quilt would never be finished.
I have grown fond of this design, so I decided to work on completing the top.
It really won’t take too much time.
I feel better about finishing the top and placing this in the WIP bin.


I set the blocks up into 4 columns.


Then I tried laying the blocks out into 3 columns.

I made some more blocks and decided that I prefer 4 columns.
Tomorrow, I will work on finishing the blocks.
I might have 5 rows of 4 or 4 rows of 4.

There will be time to work on the river quilt this weekend.
Problem solved…for now.

2 thoughts on “UFO or WIP

Leave a Reply

