Sunday


This was definitely a Sunday well spent.
Each Sunday, we choose one of our favorite restaurants and enjoy breakfast.
This is usually followed by a walk.

What made this day extra special is that I ran into some special people from the past.
At one store, I met up with a parents of one of my former students.
I taught their son way back in the ’90’s.
It was great to hear that he is doing well.

Then, I went to another store.
Here is where I met a former student.
I had taught her when she was in fourth grade.
I taught her cousin.
It doesn’t stop here.
I also taught her son and daughter when they were each in first grade.
The son is now 12, and the daughter is 10.
We had a great conversation, sharing memories and catching up with time.

When I got home, I went to start on the 9-Patch Chain quilt, but got distracted with another project.
I made two quick postcards.

This time, I printed the back side using the Word template for postcards.
I haven’t decided if I like handwriting or printing the message and information on the postcard.
The handwritten one seems to be more personal; and the printed one looks neater.

I went scavenging through my stash to start working on the keyboard panel for the quilt border.
I found a keyboard strip I had previously made for another quilt and I placed it against the quilt top.
The keyboard seemed to take away from the pattern of the 9-Patch Chain, and I wasn’t particularly fond of how it looked.

Yesterday, I had looked for some teal fabric that I had used for a thin border on a very large quilt I had made. Luckily, I didn’t find it until today.
I figured out I had just enough to make a 6 inch border with the teal fabric.

At first, It thought the teal border made a nice frame.
Now that I have it hanging, I don’t know if I like it.
What I do like about this quilt, is the fact that it is made from scraps and remnants.
Tomorrow, I will think about piecing the back for the quilt.
In the meantime, I will leave the quilt hanging to see if the border grows on me.

There is one more birthday to celebrate this week.
We will be celebrating my youngest son’s birthday on Tuesday.
My plan is to begin to applique the photos on the Brackenridge Park Quilt on Wednesday.

After a well spent Sunday like today, this week should be one of content.

3 thoughts on “Sunday

Leave a Reply

