Family Time in Tulum…Fuel for the Soul

To this I would add…Travel with family is fuel for the soul.
This vacation began with special family time, celebrating my granddaughter’s birthday.
It was great being able to be with my son and grandson, and my husband, before I left for Tulum.

Our Tulum adventure began on Monday, July 24th.
The beach, jungle, and beautiful people were awe-inspiring.

I didn’t even try to go find a fabric shop.
Instead, I made sketches of the designs in nature, and soaked in the color and art of the culture that surrounded me.
Soon, I will be working on a quilt design.

One of the highlights of my trip, besides being with my son, granddaughter, and daughter-in-law, was bird watching.
It was difficult for me to contain my excitement when I saw the Yucatan Jay that is native to the peninsula. Absolutely beautiful!
Here is a list of other birds I saw:

  • Majestic Frigate
  • Melodious Blackbird
  • Great-tailed Grackle
  • Tropical Mockingbird (Sang outside our window)
  • Bronzed Cowbird
  • Great Egret
  • Brown Pelican
  • Anhinga ( I think…not sure)

There were some scary moments on this trip.
First, driving in the area is nerve wrecking.
My son and daughter-in-law are braver than I am.
I would never attempt to drive here.

Next, was jumping into a lagoon, followed by transferring from a small speed boat to a large catamaran in mid-ocean. I won’t give details, but these were not my most graceful moments.

Then, there was the night we left a restaurant to walk back to our car.
The jungle road is dark.
Luckily, I used my phone flashlight and and we were able to stop in time, as we saw a coral snake slithering in front of us.
What’s a vacation without a bit of adventure?

This trip was truly fuel for the soul.
I plan to take a few more days relaxing before I get back to my sewing room.

Note:
The service, atmosphere, and people at this resort was great.
I highly recommend Cabana Tulum.
We had a package deal that included free breakfast at Ziggy’s.
The people at Ziggy’s are so welcoming.
A great restaurant is Mezzanine. (Just watch out for snakes as you walk down the road.)
I also highly recommend booking excursions with Captain Quickie.
Quickie is super nice and does everything possible to provide a perfect excursion.

Leave a Reply

