Post Tulum…

After an action-packed, fun-filled week in Tulum, I have spent the last three days on my recliner.
It has been great to sleep in and lounge.
Today, I decided to read emails and catch up with my blogs.
I saw that Abbie, of Sparkle On, had posted the first block for the mystery quilt,
I Wish You a Merry Quilt Along .
Abbie did such a great job on the first block, and her enthusiasm is catching.

It just so happened that I had some seasonal fat quarters and white fabric remnants, so  I decided to give it a try.
The snowflake pattern is by Vanda Chittenden .

Block #1
I named this block, Snowflake in a Winter Forest.

It seems that ever since I started quilting, I have become more aware of the color, designs, and patterns around me.
While in Tulum, my design sensory mode was at an all time high.
On Sunday, I started playing around with some of the designs I had captured in photos, my sketch book, and in my head.
First, I created a design on Pattern Jam, so I could get a sense of color.
These are not exactly the colors I want, but it is a start.

Pattern Jam does not allow for designs in the sash or borders.
So, I used this design to sketch another that had some blocks to represent the ruins.
I also added a zig-zag pattern.

The border may be striped material, or strips of different fabrics.
Or, the border may be floral.
This is just a preliminary sketch.
I started thinking of the possibility of making blocks that have embroidered flowers.
I hesitate to start an embroidery project since the repeated action of embroidering affects my hands.
For now, I will continue designing Tulum quilts, while the experience is still fresh.

Tomorrow, I will start binding the Wild About Texas quilt.
Or, I may just go back to my recliner.

4 thoughts on “Post Tulum…

Leave a Reply

