Inktober

I was about to shut down the sewing room for the day, when I noticed I had some good remnants from the owl bunting and the journals I had made.
Instead of stuffing them in the bin, I made a journal cover in preparation for Inktober.
In October of 2009, Jake Parker, an artist, started Inktober as a challenge to improve his own skills and drawing habits.
The site provides prompts for drawing, but I don’t stick to this list.
My sister introduced me to Inktober about three years ago, and I enjoy the challenge of drawing everyday.

September has just begun, but I took the opportunity to make the art journal cover today.
I  have always found it fun to draw and doodle, but I never considered myself an artist.
I would get drawing books and hesitate to start, in fear of making a mistake.
My sister, Emma, shared her artist trick.
She said to break in the new book and jump in by just doodling and drawing lines on the first page.
It worked!
I found that this Inktober challenge to draw every day does help to develop drawing habits.
Just another form of expression.
Lots of fun.
I usually get Moleskin books for my drawings, but this time I bought a small art notebook at Wal-mart.


Front Cover/ Same as the Back Cover


I found my set of Prismacolor Black Pens, but some are dry. They have lasted a long time.
It is time to replenish my pen pouch.

Maybe you might want to give Inktober  a try!

6 thoughts on “Inktober

Leave a Reply

