Owl Bunting

There Was An Owl

There was an owl
who lived in an oak.
The more he heard,
the less he spoke;
the less he spoke,
the more he heard-
We all should be
like that wise old bird
Source

Yesterday, I attended a farewell-to-summer tea at the home of my friend, Marti.
Her home is decorated with the most beautiful, simple, home-made decorations.
Marti has bunting for different seasons.
I decided to come home and try to make some bunting for fall.
This owl bunting idea was posted by Moonstitches on Pinterest.
My plan was to use my stash, practice applique, and try out the Charlotte’s Web Fusible Thread.
As I was rummaging through my bins, I ran across the doilies that mom had all over her living room.
I used one for the first owl.
Using the doilies instead of the center piece in the pattern, made it seem to now need wings.
I added felt wings and feet.
Now, I don’t know if I like it.

I used the Charlotte’s Web fusible thread for the second owl.
It was not as easy to pull out the top thread as shown in the tutorial video, so I will have to revisit that video.
However, the fusible thread was neat and easy.
I will have to practice some more before I decide which fusible I prefer to use.


Two buttons from my dad’s shirts were used for the eyes.


I have them hanging on my wall, so I can decide if I want to remove the wings and feet, or add feet to the second owl.

3 thoughts on “Owl Bunting

Leave a Reply

