Feeling Good

Source

My fingers are just a bit numb, but I finally finished the binding of the Tribute to Tonie quilt.
I paced myself and did one and a half sides each day.
As I was binding this quilt, I kept asking myself why I made it so large.
The whole idea for the quilt began in January 1, 2017.
I had purchased the book, Block a Day, by Lucinda Ganderton, and my plan was to make a block a day.
As I studied the blocks, I found blocks that represented things and memories of my mother.
I knew that February would be the year anniversary of my mother’s passing , and mom was very much on my mind.
So, I just started making the blocks, without a real plan.
Nothing unusual for me, not to plan ahead.
The quilt will fit on my bed, or maybe I can hang it in the living room.
After looking at this quilt for quite some time, there is nothing I would have done differently.
The quilt just tells the story of my mother, so I am very happy with it.
My friend, Jeana Kubik, did an excellent job with the long arm.

I had to do some major rearrangement in my sewing room in order to facilitate adding the sleeve to the back of the quilt.
I still have to add the label.
It is difficult getting a good picture of this, since I cannot hang it up just yet.

The center of the quilt is mom’s pink and brown house…yes, pink and brown.
We often referred to mom as 215, the house address.

These are two of my favorite blocks.
The cup represents our Sunday morning coffee visits.
It does feel good to get this done.
Now, I will take a break for a few days, before I start binding the third quilt.

12 thoughts on “Feeling Good

  1. There was not a “SUPER LIKE” button to click, so I only clicked the “LIKE” button 🙂
    That is gorgeous and amazing!!! I think I would have a difficult time selecting my favorite block. Congrats on completion and too bad the binding fairies did not come at night and help you! I remember binding marathons and sore fingers!

    Like

Leave a Reply

